Guest Book Reviews

Guest comments and feedback

Guest Reviews 2017

Annick – France – New Year 2017

Merci pour le sejour !! Tout etait parfait !! Nous reviendrons avec plaisir. A Bientot

Steve and Rhona, Derbyshire – September 2017

Great ! Accommodation spot on and the perfect location to explore this part of the Dordogne. Thank you both and all the very best for the future in your lovely holiday house in this beautiful part of the world.

Dalby, Leicestershire, September 2017

Yet another wonderful holiday here. Thanks to Nikki and Daryl. The week goes too quickly. We have already booked for 3 weeks next year. Can’t come soon enough. Thank you !

Evans, Pangbourne, UK, September 2017

Wonderful gite, so relaxing and extremely well equipped. We have had a fantastic time with so much really nearby. Loved the caves, chateaux and gardens. Fabulous restaurant – Le Moulin de Beune

Sharon & Vaughan, Bedfordshire, September 2017

Really enjoyed our first ever visit to the Dordogne. Visited so any places. Particularly liked the markets in St Cyprien and Sarlat. Font de Gaume caves and the caves at Padirac. Domme and Limeuil very scenic and canoeing was great fun. Our favourite restaurant was Les Combarelles, wish we had gone before the last night. Lovely house which had everything we would every need. Thank you for all your help especially with the car !.

Morgan, London, September 2017

Wow what a 2 weeks. Weather not so great but we have still had a brilliant time. House is perfect, cannot fault it. We have eaten at La Maison, Moulin de Beaune, could not get into Cro Magnon so worth a book. Visted Rocamodour, Limeuil, Beynac, Castelnaud, Les Milandes. All brilliant, will return soon I hope.

Kelly, Jersey – August 17

We have had a fantastic week here in the Dordogne. Beautiful house and gardens. The kids have loved the pooland the trampoline and Skitty of course. So much to do we could not fit it all in in one week. Thank you from the all the kids and thank your for all the helpful recommendations.

The Jerrolds, Exeter – August 17

As above, we have had a great time swimming in the pool and the rivers, canoeing, visiting ancient sites especially Les Madeleine village, trogolodytes and castles above the Vezere. Great house and plenty for the children, trampoline, pool and games. Au Revior and Merci !

Richard and Magaret, Scotland – August 2017

We have had a most enjoyable week with the rest of the family here. Location is wonderful and the accommodation is perfect. Hope to come back soon.

Neil and Lucy, Bristol – August 2017

Gorgeous cottage in beautiful location – we have enjoyed exploring the area and the boys particularly loved the pool and gardens. One week is definitely not long enough. Sad to be leaving but hope to return one day. Thanks Nikki and Daryl.

The Griffiths, Leicestershire – August 17

We have had a great week here with all the family. The kids have loved the pool, the gardens and the cat. One of our best nights was the market at Le Bugue. Thoroughly recommend, We have loved it here. Thanks Nikki & Daryl

Roubak, France – August 17

Very nice and lovely house, The house of happiness, within special thanks for the welcome gifts and to the Harry Potters cat. Thanks

Davies, London, UK

We have had a lovely time, great place made even better by the hosts. Great facilities, we would recommend the night market at Le Bugue

Andrew & Shona, Leicester, UK, August 2017

Wonderful holiday in an exceptional location. Lovely to holiday with the family but have our own separate gite. We loved the company of Skitty the cat.

Morgan Family, Kent, UK. August 2017

We had a lovely week in La Fenil and our boys loved the pool and trampoline. Thankyou Nikki & Daryl

Griffiths, Norwich

We have had a brilliant time here, Thanks Nikki & Daryl for all your hard work and suggestions. We particularly enjoyed the night markets at Le Bugue and the Chateau des Milandes, beautiful and fascinating. We do not want to leave – thank you

Kerry, Alan and Clare, Australia, July 2017

Lovely gite and great location. Thanks for the recommendations of night markets, Josephine Bakers Chateau. All very well worth a look.

Ben & Nicki, Tonbridge, UK. July 2017

Beautiful character property, lovely grounds, kids loved the garden, play barn and pool. Great location for happy days out,  Canoeing on the Vezere, Rocamadour, Le Bugue, Monkey forest, Thank you Nikki and Daryl

Mette & Martin, Denmark, July 2017

Amazing place and the most lovely hosts

We spent 2 weeks in Nikki and Darryls charming gites and couldn’t have asked for more. Very nice and big house and a perfect swimmingpool for the kids and grown ups. Many things to do in the area – with a big help from all the great tips in the book at the gite. We can especially recommend Au Bon Acceuil – the best french cooking in the beautiful town of Limeuil. Hopefully we’ll come back again someday. The kids already miss Nikki, Darryl, the cat Skitty, the fish, the frog and the playground. Perfect holiday! Mette & Martin, dk

Sylvie W, US, July 2017

Charming and Spacious with lovely garden and pool

We were a family of 9 and had an amazing stay at Nikki and Daryl’s lovely property. Starting with the welcome basket to Nikki being available to answer our questions, we couldn’t have asked for more. Plenty of things to do for kids and extra bonus, a friendly kittycat to greet you when you arrive back home from your daily adventures! The house is beautiful, outside and in, and the gardens well cared for. Our kids enjoyed the pool, the ping pong table and we rented bikes to get around. Highly recommend. Also, very close to many prehistoric caves, if you are interested in that.

Sally & Paul. York, UK – June 2017

Quickest week ever. Time went so fast, thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Weather great, swimming pool brilliant, gardens fab, so peaceful and relaxing. Couldn’t ask for anything more, thank you Nikki and Daryl

Parker Clements, Lancashire – June 2017

Another amazing holiday and a big thank you to Nikki & Daryl for the welcome and being such great hosts. Looking forward to next year and very sad to be leaving today. We loved the pool and Oliver loved the new toddler pool and his favourite toy was the tractor although Dad not so pleased pushing him up and down.

Clark, Yorkshire – June 2017

Quickest week ever. Time went so fast, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Weather great, swimming pool brilliant, gardens fab, so peaceful and relaxing. Couldn’t ask for anything more. Thank you Nikki & Daryl

Dalby, Leicestershire – June 2017

Stunning house and Gardens, lots to do!!
 Our 4th year of returning to the beautiful house and gardens of La Maison Bleue and yet again no disappointments! We arrived to find Nikki and Daryl had managed to improve on what we already felt was a perfect place to holiday whether you wanted lots to do or just rest and relaxation, but the changes they have made have just further enhanced the house and gardens perfectly! Although our 4th year and about our 10 time in visits during the last 4 years we still found new places to visit and new restaurants to try although we do still like to visit the favourites – Julian’s at Paunet a short drive away and Mentalo which is just a nice gentle stroll down the road. Nikki and Daryl as ever the perfect hosts, around for any queries and only a phone call away if needed but also leave you to it so this place really does feel like a home from home. Fantastic week enjoyed and looking forward to returning yet again shortly in August 2017 and have also booked for 2018! Stunning house and gardens! great region of France to explore loads to do! great restaurants locally or a short drive! simply perfect!! Julie (mum), Aidan (son and grandson 7 yrs) and Roy (amazing father and grandpa) – quality family time always enjoyed with 3 generations kept happy! x

 

Hunt, East Midlands – June 2017

A big thank you to Nikki and Daryl. So pleased I found your lovely gite amongst all those on the internet. So much character and a beautiful setting. We have had a great time.

Phillip & Tina, Nottingham – June 2017

A lovely welcome and what an amazing location. We’ve had a truly relaxing holiday and have enjoyed experiencing the area whilst each evening enjoying the beautiful scenery from the patio. If you are looking for peace and tranquillity you have found it. Thank you – we have had a great time and will definitely be recommending.

Adam, Jo and Flora, Warwickshire ,  May 2017

We have had an absolutely fantastic week here. The house and garden are absolutely beautiful and everything has been thought out beautifully to make sure our stay was perfect (books, towels for the pool, bbq) Thank you so much and the location is brilliant and the advice etc in the green book has been incredibly helpful.

Adams, Lincolnshire – May 2017

A truly charming and comfortable little house in a beautiful setting, it certainly lived up to our expectations and more.

Malgaive , France, May 2017

Un séjour de rêve entre amis. Tout est dit dans le titre, propriété très bien entretenue composée de 3 gîtes. Une piscine et un jardin magnifique. Nikki nous attendait à notre arrivée le dimanche avec, dans chaque gîte un petit panier de bienvenue très appréciable (lait, beurre, baguette, rosé,….) Sa sympathie et sa discrétion en font une hôtesse parfaite. Merci à Nikki et son mari pour leur accueil. Nous reviendrons.

Rawson, UK – May 2017
A real gem of a perigordian style in perfect location with everything thought about for your stay.
This ensemble of cottages is beautifully presented in idyllic grounds, giving visitors a superb experience. The well appointed properties offer everything for adults and children from a lovely pool to an extensive garden with lots to keep everyone amused. The interior of our cottage was perfect, keeping traditional touches alongside just the right amount of modern conveniences

 

Guest Reviews 2016

Franklin, Toronto – September 2016

Our first stay at Les Girouteaux but not our last. Just a lovely place with lots of room. Perfect to eat in when we bought the great produce from the markets. Did lots of caves, chateaux and gorgeous back roads, really wonderful, memorable trip. Also Daryl and Nikki we cant thank you enough for your help and as gracious as can be. We will return next year.

Sheridan, Warks – September 2016

We have had an absolutely fabulous week in Les Girouteaux. The house and gardens are absolutely beautiful, everything has been thought out beautifully to make sure our stay was perfect – books, towels for the pool, BBQ. Thank you so much. Also location brilliant and advice in information book on restaurants etc has been incredibly helpful.

Scott, Falkirk – September 2016

We have thoroughly enjoyed our holiday in and excellent gite with great facilities.

Baldwin, UK – September 2016

Lovely stay in a great gite in a beautiful part of France. Thank you for a lovely holiday.

Ockwell, Wiltshire – August 2016

Fantastic holiday, great location, so much to do in the area. Thanks to Daryl and Nikki for making us feel so welcome, we loved it here

Nicholson, Devon – August 2016

Lovely place for a weeks break from motorhoming. We’ve loved relaxing by the pool, watching Olympics on the TV and running our own silly Olympics in the garden. Good cycling around here too. Thanks Daryl and Nikki you are very welcoming and supportive hosts.

Page, Cotswolds – August 2016

Thank you for a wonderful 2 weeks in your lovely gite. Thank you for the gift for Gemma’s Birthday it was very thoughtful. We enjoyed the area – lots to do and lots of choice of restaurants. Sarlat is a must visit and the St Cyprien market on Sunday. The pool was perfect to come back to after a long day out in the Sun.

Dillen, Belgium – July 2016

Thank you Nikki and Daryl for a lovely stay we had a wonderful week.

Weder, Switzerland – July 2016

We felt very much at home in your fabulous Gite. This is an excellent base for exploring the area. We saw many things but always loved returning and going for a swim in the pool. Our kids loved the trampoline and made friends with the neighbours cat. Thanks a lot for a wonderful week.

Julie, Leicestershire – July 2016

Yet another lovely holiday. Special thanks to Daryl and Nikki for a memorable two weeks. PS now coming back at the end of August.

Corlett, Leicestershire – July 2016

Thank you for another lovely holiday in La Maison Bleue. C’est parfait ! Thoroughly enjoyed Le Bugue food market fantastic atmosphere. Can’t wait to come back. Lovely swimming in the pool and the brook.

Maes, Germany – July 2016

Had a great time, loved the house and the surrounding area.

McDowell, West Yorkshire – July 2016

Glorious week, over far too quickly. Thank you Daryl and Nikki house and welcome were lovely. Particularly enjoyed the Gourmand nights in the local villages. Les Combarelles restaurant just up the road really worth a visit.

Abby, UK – July 2016

Had a lovely time, lovely garden, great hosts. delicious food in the area Vin 10 in Sarlat is highly recommended.

Greenaway, Canada – July 2016

We have visited many Gites in Europe and few have displayed the amount of thought, work and taste that Daryl and Nikki have put into these homes – they brim with character, possess all the comforts and are so well kept. Our 6 yr old was in vacation heaven, pool, toys, apparatus and a stream. Joy of the day helping Daryl feed the fish. The week flew by and we loved it – thank you both so much.

Smith, Berkshire – June 2016

Lovely holiday, thank you ! The weather eased us in going from 20 – 35 degrees. The pool was excellent and the kids loved the inflatables. The ride on tractor and all the games provided were very much used, the kids thoroughly enjoyed themselves. A wonderful holiday home with welcoming hosts.

Benskin, Wycomb – May 2016

Our first visit to the lovely La Maison Bleue. A great holiday with our friends.

Dalby, Leicestershire – May 2016

Back again ! Worst weather we have ever had but still loved it, plenty to do and see and we will be back in July.

Parker-Clements, Lancashire – June 2016

Returned this year with new present from last year, baby Oliver, we have all had a great holiday again and have rebooked for 2017. Daryl & Nikki are great hosts and really make this a home from home. So sad to be leaving tomorrow but looking forward to returning next year.

Richardson, Nottingham – May 2016

3rd year running, what can we say amazing as usual. Thank you Nikki and Daryl for making our holiday so special.

Newcombe, Derby – May 2016

Fantastic home from home, lovely area, beautiful view lots to see and do. Amazing hosts, thanks Daryl and Nikki

 

Hunter, Canada – May 2016

A lovely spot for exploring the area, comfy bed and lovely view of the gardens. Thanks for everything. Pool lovely, caves worth visiting.

 

Guest Reviews 2015

Persohn, France – October 2015

Beaucoup de confort dans le gite, le jardin avec son trampoline pour s’amuser. Belles excursions en famille Nous avons bien mange et nous sommes tres contents. Merci !

 

Linett, UK – July 2015

Great time, great place,  plenty of space for the children to run about safely, loved the pool. Great scenery, loved canoeing !

Galloway & McLoughlin, Scotland – June 2015

House, pool, Daryl and Nikki were excellent. Area is lovely with lots to do for the kids. A wonderful 2 weeks in the Dordogne. Hot, Hot, Hot …………..!

Phil & Cathy, UK – October 2015

An excellent break with lovely weather. 4 days cycling over lots of hills!, 1 day filling up with our favourite wines from Bergerac. Absolutely super gite – Thank you

John & Cynthia, UK – September 2015

Lovely area, super holiday and had a great time exploring, managed a few hours topping up the tan, Thanks Nikki & Daryl

Gwyn & Dorinda, UK – September 2015

We’ve had a wonderful week’s holiday and very much appreciated the comforts of the gite and the pool.

Nigel & Ellen, UK – August 2015

Brilliant, relaxing stay in superb surroundings, Daryl and Nikki are brilliant hosts, thanks for an enjoyable week. Best of luck with future plans!!!

Owen, UK – August 2015

Amazing house in an amazing location. The gardens and pool are brilliant for the kids and the dogs and the whole family really enjoyed their stay. Would definitely recommend.

Mallen, UK – July 2015

Totally lived up to our expectations, I got my daily walk to the boulangerie and the boys loved the pool and all the outside space and games, Daryl’s a great host and very friendly being on hand to answer all our questions. We would definitely recommend a visit to this lovely gite.

Marilou & Michel, Belgium – July 2015

Great holiday. Gite is very good with everything you need and more, best area, lovely friendly people, close to a lot and very calm. We will visit again for sure

Gummery, UK – July 2015

Excellent gite for holiday especially as it is so cool in the hot weather, great restaurants in Les Eyzies, L’Auberge de Musee really good.

Barry & Brenda, UK - June 2015

Thanks Daryl & Nikki, lovely gite in an excellent location. Loved the welcome pack — best we have ever had, so thankful of the pool in the heat. Thought the all the childrens equipment was super. Too much to do in the area in 1 week although we did manage to see the Font de Gaume. Thank you so much !

Ashby, UK – May 2015

First class well equipped gite in a great location. Ideally placed for exploring the area, very helpful owners, lots of good restaurants in Les Eyzies. All in all a very relaxing stay

Rubio, Australia - May 2015

We have had such a lovely time and over 11 days managed to feel like we were at home. We loved it and had a brilliant time and would stay again and again and again….

Review #12433340 “3 Charming Gites, Sleep 2 – 18, lovely pool, set in superb 4 acre gardens” HOMEAWAY REVIEW
Relaxing

Where Are We?


Latest News

Spring Break – 5 nights for the price of 4

5 nights for the price of 4 from £95 per night. Offer ends 28th April 2018 . Contact us for details nikkigodwin@lesgirouteaux.com  


Read all Latest News